Monitoring System

The main target of a monitoring system is to develop a time dependent sustainment strategy and to create a structural maintenance and inspection method based on the actual condition. Furthermore, objective data are available to evaluate a management strategy for the structural owner.

To fulfil the requirements of a permanent health monitoring system, arsenal research has developed in cooperation with Aplica GmbH., a innovative system. The special features here are the local A/D converter, high sensitive sensors and the time synchronisation. The core of the system is a Linux-Server, which records the data on one single data logger. To transfer the data of the bridge server into the monitoring headquarter, a broadband Internet system by Telekom Austria is used.

conception of bridge monitoring
data logger

data logger

sensor

sensor

In order to realise reliable structural monitoring based on the measured vibration response, the location of sensors on the bridge is from major importance. It is essential, that sensors are arranged in such way, that all relevant natural frequencies are determined. If an acceleration sensor for example is located in the node of a mode shape, it will not be possible to determine reliable data for this frequency. In addition a well balanced installation scheme enables the calculation of displacement vectors for the corresponding mode shape.

sensor location

sensor location

cross section through bridge girder

cross section through bridge girder

back to top

Überwachungssystem

Das Ziel von Monitoringsystemen ist es, von einer derzeit praktizierten zeitabhängigen Erhaltungsstrategie eine zustandsabhängige Bauwerkserhaltung und -inspektion zu ermöglichen. Überdies sollen objektive Daten zur Entscheidungsfindung bereitgestellt werden, auf die Managementstrategien der Bauwerkserhalter ausgerichtet werden können.

Um die Anforderungen der Zustandsüberwachung erfüllen zu können, wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Aplica GmbH. ein innovatives Monitoringsystem entwickelt. Dabei stellen die lokale A/D Wandlung, die hohe Genauigkeit der Sensoren und der Zeitsynchronisation die Besonderheiten des Systems dar. Das Herz des Systems bildet ein Linux-Server, der die Daten von den einzelnen Datenloggern aufzeichnet. Die Übertragung der Messdaten vom Server in die Monitoringzentrale erfolgt über einen Breitband-Internetanschluss der Telekom Austria.

Systemkonzept Brückenmonitoring

Datenlogger

Datenlogger

Sensor

Sensor

Um eine zuverlässige Bauwerksüberwachung auf Basis der gemessenen Schwingungseigenschaften zu realisieren, kommt der Anordnung der Aufnehmer am Tragwerk entscheidende Bedeutung zu. Dabei ist wesentlich, dass die Sensoren so aufgestellt werden, dass alle relevanten Eigenfrequenzen erfasst werden können. Wird ein Beschleunigungsaufnehmer beispielsweise in einem Knotenpunkt einer Eigenschwingungsform aufgestellt, so liefert der Sensor für diese Frequenz kein aussagekräftiges Signal. Eine durchdachte Anordnung der Aufnehmer ermöglicht überdies auch für die jeweiligen Eigenschwingungsformen die zugehörigen Verschiebungsvektoren zu ermitteln.

Sensorpositionen

Sensorpositionen

Querschnitt durch Brückenträger

Querschnitt durch Brückenträger

zurück nach oben